The View Of A Deplorable Millennial

This election has been mentally exhausting. I told myself when I started this blog that I would stay away from political topics, but it’s my blog! That’s the beauty of free speech.

As a Christian, conservative millennial, there have been so many subconscious battles I have had to fight during this “presidential” race. And to me, it’s a stretch to even call it presidential.

Let me preface by saying I am not a “supporter” of either of our two candidates. And no, I’m not voting for Gary Johnson, either. I filled out my Republican ballot in the primary, and I did not mark Donald Trump’s name. He was not my choice. But he is the choice of the party I most identify with, and there’s nothing I can do about that.

I have always considered myself a Republican, but as I got older, I became slightly more liberal in my views. I don’t support everything conservatives support, but I support even less of what liberals support. I’m just your typical, twenty-something guy from a conservative background in a rural, conservative part of the country. I graduated from an extremely conservative college. I have never voted democrat in any of my eligible elections. But it’s not because I’m an “ignorant” conservative, it is because I have voted for who I believed was best suited for the job.

Fast forward to present day where I, along with millions of other Americans, don’t believe either of our choices are suited for the job. On one hand you have a man in Donald Trump who has said mean things, made some mistakes, played the system, and is about as brash as they come. On the other hand you have a woman in Hillary Clinton, who has been proven dishonest, who has served in public office for over thirty years, who has flip-flopped on about every issue possible, and is every bit as unlikeable as Mr. Trump.

After Trump was awarded the Republican nomination, I decided to get on board. He had a speckled past, but hadn’t done anything to give me a reason to not listen to what he had to say. As time went on, I became less and less confident that I could vote for him. After exploring my other options in Hillary Clinton and Gary Johnson, I really felt like I was stuck between a huge rock and an impossible hard place.

Trump has said things that make me shiver. Things that, at times, I have to read or listen to twice, just to make sure I’m hearing them correctly. Things that I wouldn’t want my president to say. And I absolutely refuse to defend what he has said. But have you heard the old adage “actions speak louder than words”? It’s precisely why I can’t vote for Hillary Clinton.

You see, while Trump has said some mean and unrighteous things, Hillary has done mean and unrighteous things.

There’s an article titled, “At This Point, If You’re Still a Donald Trump Supporter, Here’s What You Really Are” written by Allen Clifton of ForwardProgressives.com, and reading that article is what brought me to the point of writing this. In the article, the author lists all of the things Mr. Trump has done that should disqualify him from his candidacy. But he also gives several symptoms of sociopathy, and implies that Trump meets all of them. Here’s some news for everyone though: so does Hillary. Let’s take a look.

1. They don’t believe the rules or laws apply to them. This one actually made me laugh out loud because, as we all know, Hillary Clinton was cleared of any wrongdoing in the e-mail scandal by the FBI, regardless of the fact that “no agent working on the case agreed with the decision not to prosecute”.

2. They seem to have no concern about the consequences of their actions. Again, back to the e-mails. Did Mrs. Clinton not realize that keeping classified information on a private server was extremely dangerous to our national security?

3. They are impulsive. Former Secret Service agent Gary Byrne says in his book, “Crisis of Character: A White House Secret Service Officer Discloses His Firsthand Experience with Hillary, Bill, and How They Operate”, that Mrs. Clinton’s leadership style is “volcanic, impulsive, enabled by sycophants, and disdainful of the rules set for everyone else”. That quote could also be applied to point number one.

4. They show frequent signs of being reckless. You could again point to the e-mails, but this time we’ll choose from our “Hillary’s basket of recklessness”. How about the Benghazi attacks on September 11th, 2012? When Mrs. Clinton presumably knew about the threat, and potential security breaches, yet chose to take no action?

5. They are unpredictable. Can we really trust this woman? She’s for gay marriage, then she’s against it. She’s cozy with Wall Street, then she’s hard on them. She’s for border security one day, and the next she’s for open borders and free trade. She’s shown more flip-flops than a water park in mid-July.

6. They lack morals. The moral standard for someone who has done so much wrong would warrant at least some sort of remorse. Yet Mrs. Clinton chugs along on her campaign trail, with her nose higher in the air than anyone else’s because she can do whatever she wants. And that includes accepting money to her foundation from foreign donors who, by law, aren’t allowed to contribute to a campaign. And the lies….there are so many proven lies. Seem morally righteous to you? Didn’t think so.

7. They are narcissists. A study by Rylee Pool and Aubrey Immelman for the Unit of the Study of Personality in Politics concluded that Clinton’s personality can be best described as an “adaptive elite narcissist”. 

8. They have proven to be hot-tempered and a bit of a loose cannon. Sure, Donald Trump might be a bit of a loose cannon. But is it because he’s out of his mind, or because he’s a businessman and not a politician? Hillary has a bad record of having a temper, especially when she doesn’t get her way. So while Donald may be more “hot-tempered” per se, Hillary is no cool drink of water.

9. They lack empathy or sympathy for others. Unless you’re in tight with Hillary and her camp, you won’t be getting any empathy from her. Particularly not if you’re a “deplorable” Trump supporter, or a Bernie Sanders supporter “still living in their parent’s basement”. In fact, in a YouGov poll conducted during the Democratic primaries, only 44% of those polled said Clinton “understands people like you”, in contrast to Bernie Sanders’ 56%.

10. They are manipulative to get what they want. This is a good one. Should we start with the fact that the State Department attempted to trade favors with the FBI regarding the declassification of e-mails relating to the Benghazi attacks? Or how about the fact that Hillary admitted to top banking executives that she has “both a public and private” policy on certain issues? That means she is, quite literally, manipulating the American people by telling them what they want to hear, only to execute an entirely different plan of action.

11. They almost never apologize. One of the biggest problems I have with Hillary is that she has seemingly no remorse for anything she has done wrong. She defends herself by saying she has made bad decisions, but has never truly apologized to the people she has negatively impacted. Neera Tanden, president of the Liberal Center for American Progress, said in an e-mail to Clinton staffers that, “apologies are like her [Clinton’s] Achilles heel”.

12. They often invent outrageous lies about their success or experiences. Again, the lies are abundant with Hillary Clinton. The one that first stood out to me when I read this line was Mrs. Clinton’s recollection of her visit to Bosnia in 2008 that sharply contrasted the video of her arrival. But if that isn’t enough, here’s a “highlight reel” , of sorts, of her lies (and these are just the public ones).

Given the above criteria, it appears Trump isn’t the only so-called sociopath on the ticket this year. I’m not going to defend everything he has said, and if the allegations against him are true, he doesn’t deserve to be Commander in Chief. But the bottom line, for me, is that none of these things he’s being accused of have been proven. He has said some harsh things, maybe done some things that he isn’t proud of. But while Trump’s allegations are surfacing from tens of years ago, Hillary has been proven to be dishonest and untrustworthy throughout her years of public service, and during her time as Secretary of State. And given that dishonesty and misuse of American’s trust, it is hard for me to understand how anyone can vote for her, either.

So no, I’m not going to vote for Hillary Clinton. Not because I support Trump, but because I support the Republican platform. In an ideal world, we could reset and choose two new candidates. But we cannot. Trust me, I’d much rather have Governor Pence atop the Republican ticket, but that’s not the case. Bottom line, however, is that Trump is not a racist. He is not a sexist. He is not any other “-ist” you can think of. There are just as many (or more) instances of positive relations between minorities, women, and other groups as there are negatives.

I understand that this election will set the tone in Washington for (potentially) my children’s America. With the tensions rising between the U.S and Russia, the conflict with ISIS, our illegal immigration crisis, and our Supreme Court vacancies, this could be the most influential election in our country’s history.

You’ll probably disagree with me, and that is fine. But don’t degrade me simply because I think differently than you. But if you feel it’s necessary, go ahead. Go ahead and tell me that I’m wrong. Go ahead and tell me that Hillary is the clear choice, and that the world is doomed under a Trump administration. And please, tell me how you can’t believe I’m voting for my party’s sociopathic candidate…
and I’ll sit here, as a deplorable millennial, wondering how you’re voting for yours. 

 

JC

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

